Procedure for Authorization Renewal

Ed Tech Certification Renewal Process & Procedure:

 

Meet with your Ed Tech Representatives, Rodney Bennett (BCES) or Ruth Warren (EDL) for help with filling out your application. Rodney is located at Buxton Center Elementary and he will also be assisting GEJ, Hollis, Steep Falls and HB EmeryRuth is located at EDL and she will be assisting EDL, BEMS and BEHS.  

As currently established by state law, Ed Techs must complete a total of forty-five (45) contact hours of renewal activities before applying to renew a certificate. This may be accomplished in any one or combination of three ways:

1. You can take a standard college level class for three credits (equals 45 contact hours)
2. You may take an activity that awards Continuing Education Credits (CEU's). 1.5 CEU's is equal to 15 contact hours; therefore, 4.5 CEU's is equal to 45 contact hours.
3. You can attend activities such as workshops that give contact hour certificates detailing how much time each activity ran.

It will be the responsibility of each Ed Tech to establish and maintain an individual portfolio containing college transcripts, CEU certificates, and/or contact hour certificates that document a minimum of forty-five contact hours completed prior to the expiration date of his or her certification. It is recommended that you contact your certification representative 6 months prior to your expiration date. 

Ed Techs are also asked to keep an up-to-date log of classes (documentation to be provided) in their portfolio detailing the amount of hours completed over the course of each school year, your school representative can assist you with this process as well.  You may also fill this online Ed Tech training form out, send a copy along with any supporting documentation to your certification representative.  If you taught a class or presented to staff members, please fill this Ed Tech trainer form.  


                                      Initial Education Technician Authorization

There is an application fee for the certificate and all applicants must register for a Criminal History Record Check (CHRC). The background check and fingerprint requirement entail an additional fee. You must send a copy of your original college transcripts and/or CEUs to the Maine Department of Education when you submit your application. All these resources are located at the bottom of this section.  

      To Register for a Criminal History Record Check (CHRC)/Fingerprint Certification: 

Prior to applying for a Maine evaluation or Maine authorization, you must have your fingerprints taken through a process approved by the Maine Department of Education, http://www.maine.gov/education/forms/fingerprint/letter_2.htm.

Information regarding general fingerprint sites in Maine is available at https://www.maine.gov/doe/cert/fingerprinting or by calling the State Certification Office
 (207-624-6603). 

For information regarding the approved process for having fingerprints taken outside of Maine, please call the Certification Office for an out-of-state fingerprint packet. There is a one-time $55 fee for this process, whether you are fingerprinted in Maine or submit an out-of-state fingerprint packet.


The Department of Education site explains the requirements for each level of an Educational Technician and provides the form for initial authorization.

Application Process: 

To apply for initial authorization, you need to:  
(1) complete application (see above link)
(2) attach an official transcript of your credits of approved study
(3) $25 non-refundable fee*
(4) attach an explanation of questions answered with "yes"
INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.